Home >  Blog >  2023 TA2 Champion to be crowned at the re-birthed Calder Park Raceway this weekend

2023 TA2 Champion to be crowned at the re-birthed Calder Park Raceway this weekend

Posted on 29 November 2023
2023 TA2 Champion to be crowned at the re-birthed Calder Park Raceway this weekend

 The TA2 Muscle Car Series framed by HYTEK Steel Framing has come down to the wire with three drivers in the hunt for the 2023 championship heading into the final round this weekend, 30 November - 2 December at the re-birthed Calder Park Raceway. 

Heading into the final round, CXC Racing Ford Mustang driver, Dylan Thomas holds a 24 point lead over driver Josh Haynes in the #37 Beaches Sea Doo Ford Mustang. Jackson Rice who is also in title contention for the 2023 championship sits 14 points behind Josh Haynes in third, with 240 points up for grabs this weekend.

Super 2 Series driver Nash Morris is set to join a strong 19 car field this weekend joining with Trans Am driver Joshua Thomas in his second TFH Hire Services Ford Mustang, which was recently purchased from Robert Leonard. 

Toyota 86 front-runner Jarrod Hughes is set to make his solo TA2 Muscle Car Series debut in an AC Delco-backed Ford Mustang. Hughes previously paired up with Hayden Jackson back in May for Darwin’s King of the North enduro where they had a strong run, finishing 9th in the points.

Brett Niall will make the journey over from Perth, returning in the #54 Chevrolet Camaro with Dream Racing Australia at Calder Park. 

Lee Stibbs will make his comeback this weekend in the #66 Arrow Financial Services Chev Camaro for MVA Racing. Stibbs last raced at Darwin’s King of the North enduro round back in May.

Gunnedah’s Greg Keam has his eyes on the $2000 Race Tech Rookie of the Year Prize while fellow competitor Hayden Hume will miss out on this weekend’s round in the #45 Total Parts Plus Dodge Challenger. 

Reigning Circo Masters Class champion Nicholas Bates is looking to defending his title this weekend 189 points ahead of IES Motorsport driver Paul Hadley and Mark Crutcher, who is back in the Crutcher Developments Ford Mustang this weekend, after not competing at Sydney Motorsport Park due to being overseas. 

Russell Wright, Brad Gartner, Matt MacKelden, Hayden Jackson, Michael Coulter and Peter Robinson will round out the field for the grand finale of the 2023 TA2 Muscle Car Series. 

The TA2 Muscle Car Series framed by HYTEK Steel Framing will have four races across the weekend at Calder Park. Friday will feature qualifying, a top 10 shootout and race one while Saturday will feature three races with a 30-minute final going into the twilight. The series champions will be crowned at the Hi-Tec Oils Gala Awards presentation Sunday night at Essendon Fields.

Catch all of Saturday’s action live streamed from 1pm AEDT on the TA2 Racing Australia, Hi-Tec Oils and Speedcafe Facebook pages, as well as live and free to air from 6pm on SBS on Demand, Simulcast on Fox Sports and Kayo Sports, plus replayed Sunday afternoon Dec 10 on SBS Speedweek programme.


Dylan Thomas, #68 CXC Racing Ford Mustang 

“Going into the final round of the TA2 Muscle Car Series at Calder Park I am very excited to be leading the championship. This is a track no one has raced at before so everyone is on the same plain field. 

"We just have to keep doing what we have been doing throughout the whole year, which is keep up with the consistency and stay out of trouble. At the end of the day we are in the best position over anybody.

"I am heading into Calder Park with the intention of getting a few podium results on that top step. We will put our best foot forward and the championship will take care of itself.” 

Josh Haynes, #37 Beaches Sea Doo Ford Mustang

“It’s all to play for this weekend, the Beaches Seadoo team have worked hard all year. We’ve had the pace but have been unlucky with a few things throughout the year, but we’re coming into this round pretty confident of putting on a strong performance.

“The track is really cool, quite bumpy coming into Turn 1 and a few corners which makes it pretty technical, but it’s amazing to return to a track with so much history.

“Ultimately the goal is to stay consistent and finish each race as well as we can. There’s four races to go and anything can happen, so we’ll put our best foot forward and take on the challenge.”


#4 Mark Crutcher, Crutcher Developments, Ford Mustang

#7 Jackson Rice, Ruffnuts, Ford Mustang

#10 Peter Robinson, B Styled for Life, Dodge Challenger

#11 Michael Coulter, Kobelco Motorsport, Chevrolet Camaro

#13 Greg Keam, Debeers Refinish, Ford Mustang

#22 Brad Gartner, Castec Rural Supplies, Ford Mustang

#24 Nicholas Bates, Bates Motorsport, Ford Mustang

#37 Josh Haynes, Beaches Seadoo, Ford Mustang

#50 Paul Hadley, IES Motorspot, Chevrolet Camaro

#51 Graham Cheney, IES Motorsport, Chevrolet Camaro

#54 Brett Niall, Dream Racing Australia, Chevrolet Camaro

#55 Russell Wright, Wright Property Investments, Ford Mustang

#66 Lee Stibbs, Arrow Financial Services, Chevrolet Camaro 

#68, Dylan Thomas, CXC Racing, Ford Mustang

#69 Joshua Thomas, TFH Hire Services, Ford Mustang

#81 Hayden Jackson, Team RSG/MGW, Dodge Challenger

#99 Matt MacKelden, Kubota Racing, Ford Mustang

#111 Nash Morris, TFH Hire Services, Ford Mustang

#118 Jarrod Hughes, ACDELCO, Ford Mustang



12:10pm Practice 1 (20 minutes)

2:30pm Practice 2 (20 minutes)

3:50pm Practice 3 (20 minutes)


10:15am Practice 4 (20 minutes)

12:20pm Qualifying (20 minutes)

2:20pm Top 10 Shootout 

4:35 Race 1 (15 laps)


12:45pm Race 2 (15 laps)

4:58pm Race 3 (15 laps)

7:22pm Race 4 (30 minutes)


Live stream  from 1pm- 5:30pm AEDT on the TA2 Racing Australia, Hi-Tec Oils Super Series and Speedcafe Facebook Pages. 

Live and free to air TV from 6pm - 9pm AEDT on SBS on Demand, simulcast on Fox Sports and Kayo Sports.