Home >  Blog >  Biggest ever TA2 field heads to Sydney Motorsport Park

Biggest ever TA2 field heads to Sydney Motorsport Park

Posted on 26 September 2019
Biggest ever TA2 field heads to Sydney Motorsport Park

A record 30-car field features at the penultimate round of the TA2 Muscle Car Series, headlining the Australian Motor Racing Series at Sydney Motorsport Park this weekend, September 28/29.

Last time out at Winton Motor Raceway, two firsts, a second and a third from four races was enough to earn George Miedecke back-to-back round wins by a single point over Aaron Seton, but Seton’s Castrol Harris Racing Mustang continues to hold a 16-point lead at the top of the Performax Cup standings over the Lubrimaxx/Miedecke Motor Group Mustang heading into the business end of the season.

Following the sale of his Mustang to Jack Childs, Sunshine Coast racer Anthony Tenkate returns in a new car and an all-new colour scheme for the Tenkate Plant Hire Ford Mustang.

The grid also includes the return of Thunder Road Racing Team Australia entries of Don Dimitriadis and David Falvey, the Dodge Challenger of Allgate Racing’s Chris Formosa and Camaro racer Darren Berry.

The series returns to Sydney Motorsport Park for the second time this season after the Western Sydney venue hosted the season opener in March. Back then, it was Seton who asserted his early dominance by claiming three out of four race wins, before the 21-year old spun out in the final race and handed victory to Miedecke.

Seton remains the winningest driver of the season so far with eight race wins, ahead of 16-year old Nathan Herne and Miedecke equal on four.

No driver has managed to clean sweep all four races in a weekend as yet. Seton and Herne remain the closest to achieve that feat, with Seton taking three wins out of four at Round 1 and Round 2 before Herne was within sight of a clean sweep at Round 3 at The Bend before a diff failure in the final race.

The TA2 Muscle Car Series will hit the track for three practice sessions on Friday, followed by a split 15-minute Qualifying session, and four ten-lap sprint races across Saturday and Sunday. Sunday's races will be streamed live online, while a 30-minute post-produced highlights show will feature on Fox Sports 506 in the weeks following the event, with the first screening set for 9:30pm on Thursday October 17.


Craig Denyer, TA2 Muscle Car Series Manager

"This is the biggest and most impressive grid yet in the short history of the TA2 Muscle Car Series,” said Craig Denyer.

“To have 30 cars on the grid in just our second year of a full national series proves that the TA2 formula of a low-cost, big bang-for-buck racing experience is right for the Australian market.

“The talent depth of the field is very strong, with 10 drivers still within a mathematical chance of winning the Performax Cup.

“Expect a strong local performance from Michael Coulter in the Kobelco Mustang while Nathan Herne and George Miedecke are expected to continue their one-on-one battle after some pretty intense on-track action at the last round.”


Practice 1: Friday 11:15am Practice 2: Friday 2:15pm Practice 3: Friday 4:05pm Qualifying: Saturday 11:20am Race 1: Saturday 2:45pm Race 2: Saturday 4:25pm Race 3: Sunday 11:45am Race 4: Sunday 2:25pm

ENTRY LIST - 2019 TA2 Muscle Car Series Round 5 - Sydney Motorsport Park (September 27/29)

#2 - Don Dimitriadis (NSW), Ford Mustang - Thunder Road Racing Team Australia #3 - Craig Vanderstelt (SA), Ford Mustang - Zenith Custom Solutions #4 - Mark Crutcher (NSW), Dodge Challenger - Crutcher Developments #5 - Matthew Mackelden (NSW), Ford Mustang - Kubota Racing #6 - Hugh McAlister (NSW), Ford Mustang - Kubota Racing #7 - Michael Kulig (QLD), Chevrolet Camaro - Kulig Engineering #10 - Peter Robinson (QLD), Dodge Challenger - Morgans Investment Consultants #11 - Michael Coulter (NSW), Ford Mustang - Kobelco/Sydney Truck and Machinery #12 - Tim Shaw (TAS), Dodge Challenger - Shaw Developments #14 - Cameron Sendall (QLD), Chevrolet Camaro - Caddy Storage #15 - David Falvey (QLD), Chevrolet Camaro - Thunder Road Racing Team Australia #18 - Shaun Richardson (QLD), Ford Mustang - RTC Group/Road Rage Industries #20 - Darren Berry (QLD), Chevrolet Camaro - Tooth Booth Dentists #22 - Ashley Jarvis (QLD), Chevrolet Camaro - Lighthouse Electrical #24 - Jack Childs (QLD), Ford Mustang - Think Investment Realty #28 - Tim Tritton (QLD), Ford Mustang - Everyday Finance Solutions #29 - Nathan Herne (NSW), Dodge Challenger - Gulf Western Oils #35 - George Miedecke (NSW), Ford Mustang - Miedecke Motorsport #44 - Greg Willis (QLD), Chevrolet Camaro - Cross Torque Racing #49 - Chris Formosa (NSW), Dodge Challenger - Ranger Racing/Allgate Auto Doors #50 - Paul Hadley (NSW), Chevrolet Camaro - Illawarra Engineering Services #55 - Russell Wright (QLD), Ford Mustang - RoadBees Transport #69 - Anthony Tenkate (QLD), Ford Mustang - Tenkate Plant Hire #74 - Murray Kent (QLD), Chevrolet Camaro - Underground Civil Supplies #77 - Bill Robinson (NSW), Ford Mustang - Elite Smash Repairs Erina #88 - Aaron Seton (QLD), Ford Mustang - Castrol Harris Racing #95 - Andrew Miedecke (NSW), Dodge Challenger - Ram Trucks Port Macquarie #555 - George Elliot (VIC), Chevrolet Camaro - Dream Racing Australia #777 - Craig Scutella (VIC), Chevrolet Camaro - Dream Racing Australia #888 - Warren Wadley (QLD), Ford Mustang - Wadley Motorsport