Home >  Blog >  TA2 Muscle Cars Secures Fox Sports Coverage and Pole Award

TA2 Muscle Cars Secures Fox Sports Coverage and Pole Award

Posted on 18 June 2019

The TA2 Muscle Car Series has announced an exciting new partnership with Fox Sports that will give motorsport fans around the country the chance to watch more TA2 racing than ever before.

The series has announced that highlights from the remaining four rounds of the series as well as Round 2 at Morgan Park in April will be shown and replayed in a half-hour package on Fox Sports Channel 506 produced by Blend Line TV.

This adds to the existing online and social media live stream coverage of the series’ Sunday races provided by Blend Line TV at each event.

The series has also welcomed an increased partnership with world-leading automotive cooling providers and category radiator supplier PWR. The Queensland-based company will support the new PWR Pole Award with $500 cash for the fastest qualifier at the remaining rounds of the season.

This weekend a record 27-car field heads to The Bend Motorsport Park in South Australia to headline the Australian Motor Racing Series program.

After an incident at Round 2 at Morgan Park, Anthony Tenkate has sold his Mustang to former Speedway racer Jack Childs which Tenkate will drive at The Bend this weekend in new colours and the #24, before returning in a new car for Round 4 at Winton.

Jack Childs' #24 Mustang to be driven by Anthony Tenkate at The Bend this weekend.

A host of drivers have already tested at the circuit, including Miedecke Motorsport’s George and Andrew Miedecke, Gulf Western Oils Racing’s Nathan Herne and Dream Racing Australia’s George Elliot and Craig Scutella.

A majority of teams will also take part in a pre-event test day on Thursday.

20-year old Aaron Seton continues to lead the Performax Cup in the Castrol Harris Racing Ford Mustang by 22 points ahead of George Miedecke, with Ashley Jarvis, Andrew Miedecke and Hugh McAlister completing the top five.

Seton is hunting for his third-straight round win after a dominant start to the year, picking up six race wins out of the first eight of the year. George Miedecke and 16-year old Formula Ford champion Herne remain the other race winners with one win apiece.


Craig Denyer, TA2 Muscle Car Series Manager

“The new Fox Sports deal is something we have been working on with for quite some time, and will give all race fans the option to watch the TA2 races either live through the live-streaming service, or replayed in a highlights package that will go to air after each round,” said Denyer.

“This is a significant leg up in marketing and exposure of the category to a much wider audience, and will help to deliver more value for our competitors and our partners.”

“This includes our new partnership with PWR, who are the control radiator supplier for the series and a great success story for Australian business and manufacturing on a global scale.”

Daniel Beckinsale, Principle of DGB Media, Producer of Blend Line TV

“The TA2 Muscle Car Series is one of the hidden gems of Australian motorsport, and deserve the opportunity to be televised to a much wider audience,” said Beckinsale.

“We’re excited by the opportunities this agreement brings for both parties to continue to grow their presence in the Australian motorsport landscape and deliver a product that is really fan and television friendly.”

Nathan Herne, Driver #29 Dodge Challenger, Gulf Western Oils

“Everyone knows 506 as the channel for motorsport with Supercars, Formula 1 and Moto GP, so it’s a massive announcement for TA2 to receive this level of exposure on Fox Sports and introduce the series to an even bigger audience,” said Herne.

“TA2 is the best category i’ve raced in, the cars are awesome to drive and the drivers at the front are seriously competitive.

“It’s also great to announce the PWR Pole Award, $500 covers the cost of a full race weekend allocation of tyres, so it goes a long way in this category.

“Qualifying is so important in this category to stay up the front, so with this extra incentive we’ll be pushing really hard for the PWR Pole Award at The Bend this weekend.”

ENTRY LIST - 2019 TA2 Muscle Car Series Round 3 - The Bend Motorsport Park (June 21-23)

#2 - Don Dimitriadis (NSW), Ford Mustang - Thunder Road Racing Team Australia #4 - Mark Crutcher (NSW), Dodge Challenger - Crutcher Developments #5 - Matthew Mackelden (NSW), Ford Mustang - Kubota Racing #6 - Hugh McAlister (NSW), Ford Mustang - Kubota Racing #7 - Michael Kulig (QLD), Chevrolet Camaro - Kulig Engineering #11 - Michael Coulter (NSW), Ford Mustang - Kobelco/Sydney Truck and Machinery #14 - Cameron Sendall (QLD), Chevrolet Camaro - Caddy Storage #20 - Darren Berry (QLD), Chevrolet Camaro - Tooth Booth Dentists #22 - Ashley Jarvis (QLD), Chevrolet Camaro - Lighthouse Electrical #24 - Anthony Tenkate (QLD), Ford Mustang - Think Investment Realty #28 - Tim Tritton (QLD), Ford Mustang - Everyday Finance Solutions #29 - Nathan Herne (NSW), Dodge Challenger - Gulf Western Oils #33 - Chris La Rosa (NSW), Ford Mustang - Team Natcorp #35 - George Miedecke (NSW), Ford Mustang - Miedecke Motorsport #44 - Greg Willis (QLD), Chevrolet Camaro - Cross Torque Racing #45 - Simon Tabinor (VIC), Ford Mustang - South Eastern European Prestige Vehicles #49 - Christopher Formosa (NSW), Dodge Challenger - Allgate Motorsport #55 - Russell Wright (QLD), Ford Mustang - RoadBees Transport #71 - Warren Trewin (VIC), Chevrolet Camaro - SNB Racing #74 - Murray Kent (QLD), Chevrolet Camaro - Underground Civil Supplies #77 - Bill Robinson (NSW), Ford Mustang - Elite Smash Repairs Erina #88 - Aaron Seton (QLD), Ford Mustang - Castrol Harris Racing #95 - Andrew Miedecke (NSW), Dodge Challenger - Ram Trucks Port Macquarie #555 - George Elliot (VIC), Chevrolet Camaro - Dream Racing Australia #777 - Craig Scutella (VIC), Chevrolet Camaro - Dream Racing Australia #888 - Warren Wadley (QLD), Ford Mustang - Wadley Motorsport